Jumped

I was living in Gadsden, Etowah, Alabama, when this happened, and it was quite a few years bag, but it is something I will never forget. I was driving home with my four young children. We had just turned off Highway 411 onto Tidmore Bend Road. We had just got past the church on the right, and traffic came to a stop. I was confused by the need to stop as this was a location that never happened. I was looking forward to figuring things out and seeing three cars in front of me. The car in the middle is where things began as the car in front of me was an innocent bystander like my children and me were.
Before I knew what was happening, two men jumped out of the second car’s back, one from each side. They go running up to the first car with baseball bats in their hands and commence beating the crap out of the driver. Both of the men bats, and all were swinging into that car like it was no one’s business. I can not believe my eyes, and I guess my fight or flight kicked in, and the next thing I know, I am blowing the horn, yelling, someone please call 911 with my window rolled down. Call 911; I called again as I am dialing it myself. At that moment, the aggressors fled from the driver and headed back to their car while shooting me the bird finger, running and pulling up their pants.
I am talking to the 911 operator as the car the culprits took off as fast as it could go, headed back to where I lived. I hang up with 911, assured that the police would be patrolling the area that I realize what I just did and how dangerous it was for my children and me. I was a nervous wreck as I pulled up at home as we were the corner house and had nowhere to hide our car for a little while.
I braved it up and took us home, and with my heart pounding, I locked the door behind me once I had us all in the house. I watched out the windows for the guys who had the bats and for the police to drive by. After a little while, my nerves settled, and I decided they would not bother us and went on with my night as standard, but it is a day I will never forget.

Leave a comment